Skip to main

National Language Teacher of the Year Program

Celebrating Distinction in the Language Education Profession

Five teacher of the year finalists standing together and smiling
Share this page:

The ACTFL National Language Teacher of the Year Award recognizes excellence through a process that unites state, regional, and national language organizations and promotes and elevates the status of the language education profession.

Additionally, this program creates as many media opportunities as possible to increase the visibility of the importance of learning languages and cultures to the general public.

Explore the National Program, Rubric, Hall of Fame, & More

Teachers of the Year at the State & Regional Level

Every National Language Teacher of the Year begins as a candidate for their state-level program, before proceeding as a regional and national finalist.

Celebrate the 2022 State Teachers of the Year

Celebrate the 2023 State Teachers of the Year

Meet the 2024 Regional Language Teachers of the Year

Learn More About Getting Involved

Visit your state or regional organization's website for details.

Portrait photo of a woman, smiling

Meet the 2024 National Language Teacher of the Year

Announced at the 2024 ACTFL Annual Convention & World Languages Expo, Alicia Dallman Shoemaker is the District Department Chair, PLC Leader, and a World Language Educator with Elkhorn Public Schools in Elkhorn, NE.